Jan Anthonie Bruijn

Member since 13 December 2016
End of term 13 December 2024

Jan Anthonie Bruijn (1958), professor of immunopathology at Leiden University and president of the Senate since 2 July 2019, is chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Amsterdam School of the Arts (AHK).

He studied medicine at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore (USA) and at Erasmus University Rotterdam. After this, he specialised as a pathologist at the Academic Hospital in Leiden. He obtained his PhD from Leiden University in 1988. After completing his training and PhD, Bruijn worked first as a University Lecturer in Leiden and Boston (Harvard University), then as a University Senior Lecturer at Leiden University Medical Centre (LUMC). In 1996, he was appointed professor of Immunopathology at Leiden University.

Current additional positions

  • Member Committee of Recommendation, Leiden Medical Faculty
  • Member Committee of Recommendation, St. Socrates Leiden to support students
  • Chairman Stichting Orgel Groot Auditorium Academiegebouw, Leiden University
  • Member of the Board of Trustees of the Prof. B.M. Telders Foundation
  • Member of the Batavian Society of Profound Philosophy
  • Member Recommendation Committee Dutch Global Students Foundation (NEWS)
  • Member Advisory Board, Christiaan Huygens Prize Foundation
  • Member Recommendation Committee St. Cathedral Organ Hooglandse Kerk Leiden
  • Member of Royal Holland Society of Science
  • Member Recommendation Committee National Chamber of Student Associations (LKvV)
  • Member Committee of Recommendation St. Blikverruimers for young supervisors
  • Member Committee of Recommendation Breakfast to Share, The Hague
  • Member Committee of Recommendation Model European Parliament
  • Member University Council/Erasmus Trust Fund, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Member Advisory Board Carnegie Foundation Peace Palace, The Hague
  • Chairman of the Upper House of the States General
  • Member Committee of Recommendation De Westerkerk Cultural Centre Enkhuizen
  • Member Committee of Recommendation Leo Smit Foundation, Amsterdam