For the tenth edition of the AHK Graduation Award, the jury examined 48 works that were submitted by graduating/graduated students. Impressed by the overal quality of the final projects of this graduation year, the jury has decided to select not ten but eleven projects for the shortlist. The prize, €3,000 for each winning project, will be awarded in two categories: for the best bachelor's project and for the best master's project of the Graduation Year of 2021. The jury, chaired by Ernestine Comvalius, will announce the winners on Thursday 10 February 2022.


How do you compare a choreography with an architectural design or a thesis on cultural heritage with a percussion performance? The jury will compare the graduation projects on the basis of the following criteria:  

  • The work has been assessed to be good.
  • The work establishes a connection to the outside world. 
  • The work is relevant to the further development of the profession.

AHK Graduation Prize Regulations 2021 (PDF)

Nominees AHK Graduation Award 2021

The following graduation projects have been shortlisted:


  • Notes by Lautaro Hochman with Siebren Smink, David Ko - Composition, Conservatorium van Amsterdam
  • Saoshyant by Ramin Amin Tafreshi - Composition, Conservatorium van Amsterdam
  • The Unspoken Truth by Dion Rosina - Art and Design Teacher, Breitner Academy
  • Verlangen by Lotte Salomons - Direction Documentary, Netherlands Film Academy
  • X Y WE by Marleen Hendrickx - Theatre Teacher, Academy for Theatre and Dance
  • Yalda: the Longest Night by Faydim Ramshe, Ivo Siebum, Rosalien Hollestelle - Direction Documentary, Production, Production, Netherlands Film Academy


  • The Calabar Sculpture Garden by Stephanie Idongesit Ete - Architecture, Academy of Architecture
  • The Democratization of Knowledge by Andrea Lagrutta - Museology, Reinwardt Academy
  • Sector Quicksand by Abhay Kumar - Netherlands Film Academy
  • Time Will Tell  by Reza Mirabi - Choreography, DAS Graduate School, Academy for Theatre and Dance
  • Watertrots by Niek Smal - Landscape Architecture, Academy of Architecture


The jurymembers of the AHK Graduation Award 2021 are Zippora Elders, Edwin van Huis, Dominique Vleeshouwers and jury chair Ernestine Comvalius.

Award ceremony

Award Ceremony
On February 10, 2022, the jury will announce the winners during a festive ceremony.
Date: Thursday, February 10, 4-6 p.m.

The presentation form of the event - with or without an audience, livestream - will be determined in line with the corona guidelines.


Please, email: