Successes for Ebonit Saxophone Quartet and Ardemus Saxophone Quartet

Published on

Again a success for the Ebonit Saxophone Quartet (photo): the quartet has won the Storioni Toonzaal Prijs 2016, a first prize, at the Storioni Festival. They also won the Audience Prize and the MAX Young Talent Prize.

The Ebonit Saxophone Quartet was formed in 2011 by Simone Müller, Dineke Nauta, Johannes Pfeuffer and Paulina Kulesza, all students with Arno Bornkamp. Currently, the quartet studies in the master's degree programme for string quartets, offered jointly by the Netherlands String Quartet and the Conservatorium van Amsterdam, where the members study with Marc Danel, Sven Arne Tepl en Stefan Metz. The quartet has also recently been selected as finalist for the Dutch Classical Talent & Tour Award, and they have won the Almere Chamber Music Competition.

The Ardemus Saxophone Quartet won the Incentive Prize at the Storioni Festival, which was awarded for the first time. The quartet recently also won second prize at the Papandopulo Competition in Zagreb, in the chamber music category, and will play in the final of the Grachtenfestival Conservatory Competition next month.