Dagmar Korbar wins sixth National Viola Competition

Published on

Dagmar Korbar (1999) has won the sixth National Viola Competition. In the final, held on 17 November 2019, she performed Brahms’ Viola Concerto op. 120 no. 1 (arr. by Luciano Berio of Brahms’s Clarinet Sonata no. 1). She was accompanied by the CvA Symphony Orchestra. Dagmar studies with Nobuko Imai and Marjolein Dispa at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam.
Seamus Hickey (1999) won second prize and Fiachra De Hora (1999) third prize. Both are Conservatorium van Amsterdam students as well. 

Fourteen young, talented violists participated in this edition of the National Viola Competition. Jury members were Ronald Kieft (chair), Jürgen Kussmaul, Veit Hertenstein, Garth Knox and Anna-Magdalena den Herder. 
Previous winners are Takehiro Konoe (2017), Armen Nazarian (2015), Marc Sabbah (2013), Anna-Magdalena Den Herder (2011) and Saeko Oguma (2009).

Photos by Kyra Hehenkamp

More about the National Viola Competition