On Thursday 10 February 2022 the AHK celebrated the tenth edition of the AHK Graduation Prize. Two cash prizes of €3,000 in the Bachelor’s and Master’s categories, and an audience prize of €1,000 were awarded. From this year on, all other nominated projects receive an amount of €500.

Award Ceremony

On February 10, 2022, the jury announced the winners during a festive ceremony at the Melkweg music venue in Amsterdam. Jefferson Yaw Frempong-Manson, first-year student of Theater and Cabaret at the AHK, opened the event performing his song Officer Don't Let Go with his band. The eleven nominees presented their graduation projects. AHK alumnus Sherazade Fritze was presenting the afternoon. During the livestream, the public - at the venue and at home - could vote for the Audience Award.

Jury chair Ernestine Comvalius announced the winners of the prizes. Faydim Ramshe (Directing Documentaries) and team won in the Bachelor category with the film Yalda: The Longest Night. The prize in the Master category was presented to Niek Smal (Landscape Architecture) for his landscape design Watertrots. The audience in the hall and the viewers of the livestream chose X Y WE by Marleen Hendrickx as the winner of the Audience Award.

To news item AHK Eindwerkprijzen 2021 uitgereikt aan ‘Yalda: The Longest Night’, ‘Water Pride’ en 'X Y We'


Livestream AHK Graduation Prizes 2021

Nominees AHK Graduation Prize 2021

The following graduation projects have been shortlisted:




The jurymembers of the AHK Graduation Prize 2021 are Zippora Elders, Edwin van Huis, Dominique Vleeshouwers and jury chair Ernestine Comvalius.


How do you compare a choreography with an architectural design or a thesis on cultural heritage with a percussion performance? The jury will compare the graduation projects on the basis of the following criteria:  

  • The work has been assessed to be good.
  • The work establishes a connection to the outside world. 
  • The work is relevant to the further development of the profession.

AHK Graduation Prize Regulations 2021 (PDF)


Please, email: webredactie@ahk.nl.